An activist sentiment has seemed to take hold of me over the last few weeks and I can’t seem to shake it. I do work a block from Occupy Montreal and there is something special in witnessing people get together for a common purpose. (And I must remind you that Occupying Montreal in January is slightly less comfortable than in LA!) It is also triggered by a mounting frustration at the fact that I am witnessing more and more difficulty in accessing services in our diverse institutions and by the relative nonchalance of the people who work there who just shrug as if it is normal that a three-year-old child should wait two years to get the services he needs. I apologize to all of you who do not live in a system where universal access to health care, schools and overall infrastructures are granted by law. This ranting must sound rather petty. Suffice to say that when you expect the services to be there and you have already paid them with your tax dollars, it is frustrating. But I’ll save that discourse for my compatriots.

Mixing religion and politics has always been an explosive mix and I don’t intend to cause trouble by posting this here. But it made me think that traditionally the Pagan movement has been very involved in a number of civil causes: women’s rights, gay rights, the environment

Health care reform supporter 3 at town hall me...

Image via Wikipedia

… I was wondering if Christian Pagans would have the same tendency, or would we tend to lean more towards the status quo, as maybe Christians generally would? And if we do have that fire to fight for a cause, what cause would we espouse? Jesus was an activist in everything he did. He fought for the disenfranchised, the sick, the infirm, women… Would we fight for that, I wonder? Or would we fight for a raising of consciousness, for religious tolerance and for equity in our religious institutions? Would we pick up signs and manifest in the streets or would we try to change things inconspicuously, one person at a time? I wonder…

