I’m slowly coming out of what seems to be a deep state of hibernation. I have been on vacation for the last two weeks, spending a lot of time sleeping, reflecting and slowing down from the fast, hectic pace that has been my life over the last six months. This time of reflection marked the end of my Lent and the celebration of Eater, which was marked with more simplicity than I have lived in years. Throughout this time, I went over my journey, trying to see what story I want to tell next. This exercise made it clear to me that for everything there is a season. The last couple seasons have been marked by the sigil of work. It was only when I stopped for a few days that I realized how relentlessly I was in pushing myself to produce more and more and to meet expectations that came from …. Not sure, actually.

So the lesson that came from this Lent was that I have to make place for Joy and Pleasure, Indulgence and a little Craziness. I’ve been neglecting these old friends. Yet, I feel that I will discover them in a new way. Not in the excess of old when I had all the energy in the world, but in that heartfelt place of a sudden burst of laughter, in the pleasure of creating something or baking chocolate chip cookies, in getting dirty and in jumping in the puddles with my son. For that was the dead giveaway: I realized that I wasn’t laughing as much as I used to. With the stress of the move, the hectic job, the lack of sleep (yes, my lovely daughter still wakes up every single night) and the worrying about my son, I just forgot to laugh and have fun. With the weather warming up, it looks like there are fun-filled days ahead!

xxx

Someone asked me a few days ago how a Christian Witch celebrates Easter. In response to that question I can only ask another: How do you want to celebrate Easter? What does it mean to you? How does Life manifest itself within you? What story does it speak, of what roads travelled?

As part of the writing process for a new book, I’ve been reflecting a lot about my role in the teaching of what Christian Witchcraft is. It dawns on me that I cannot say how a Christian Witch does anything. I can only say how this Christian Witch does. I cannot tell you how to be a Christian Witch. Only your Lord can do that. If you need a candle to sit by Him, go ahead and light one. If you need to take out symbols and do a complex ritual, OK. If He takes you by the side of a river, urges you for a walk, or takes you to a sanctuary, go there. He said: The kingdom of God is inside of you and outside of you. Trust Him. He’ll get you there.

So, this Christian Witch, this year, sat in her living room and listened to what her Lord had to tell her about her life. She spent time with her family, eating and laughing. For the first time in years, she didn’t even go to church. I just wanted to be alone in silence, without the pomp and circumstance of complex ritual. But that’s just this year… Who knows what Life will teach me next year.


