I’ve been pondering all week about how I would follow-up my last post. I even sat down twice to stare at a blank screen and decided to wait some more. How do I teach how magic is done?

The dilemma is this: Can I tell you how it’s done? Or do you have to discover it for yourself? Can a lesson really substitute a life’s journey? Somehow, I don’t think so. At best, I can offer some road signs that you may (or not) recognize as you walk your path.

As I pondered the dilemma at hand, it came to me that working the magic of the world was more a state of being rather than a recipe you follow. Of course, you still need certain ingredients, but it all rests on a state of being, a dance with the worlds, that can only be learned when you recognize the intricate rhythm of the music of the universe.

My initial reflection yielded the following observations:

1) To work the magic of the worlds, you have to understand the fabric of the universe. You have to understand what the universe is made of, how it is put together, what is this energy that flows and binds it. You have to touch it, feel it, sense it. You have to be part of it.

2) You have to turn on the Vision. I have always claimed that to be a Witch, you have to be nature literate. You have to be able to ‘read the signs of the times’. You have to be able to walk in communion with all that is, take your place in the circle of life as a creator and a mediator. You have to know the language of the universe, its way of speaking in symbols and of reaching you on the most intimate level. For this, you have to be able to go within, deep within that sacred space and feel no doubt that the Divine wants to connect with you at every moment of your life. A life of magic is a life of communion with the Sacred Source.

3) When I went within and tried to tease out the elements that make Magic possible, three words came to my mind: humility, gratitude and wonderment.

Humility is the understanding that everyone else is worth as much as you. When you acknowledge that, you can neither harm others, nor deprive yourself of the best God has to offer. A life of humility also means that you believe that there is something greater than yourself. Living in the bosom of that greatness is the first step towards union with it.

Gratitude: Where you look, there is your future. What you focus on grows. Living in gratitude means you live in a world of benevolence, of compassion, of sharing. You build that world by living with your daily blessings. When you live in gratitude, you let your blessings flow.

Finally, there is no magic without a sense of wonderment at the greatness of God and what s/he is continually creating and re-creating. Even an infinitesimal realization of what we are part of should send us singing for joy.

I don’t know where my journey will take me next or what I will learn tomorrow. Each one of our journeys are different for we are all different expressions of God. Do not doubt your path. It is the most sacred gift you can offer to God and to all of us.

Blessings on your journeys!

