Dear friends,

I would like to take a few moments to wish you all a most blessed year, filled with joy, peace and an ever growing sense of wonder in the Mysteries that surround us!

I woke up this morning from a marvelously vivid dream where I met a very old friend who told me that she had forsaken her career to pursue religious studies. As she said that, my whole being came alive and I walked up a school and asked about learning ancient languages and about studying ancient scriptures. I think this dream sets the stage for the year ahead. There may be a bit of studying ahead for me. How wonderful that would be!

I’d like to share a little New Year ritual that I do every year. I started it a few years ago and it has now become a family tradition. Every year, I sit and do a retrospective of what has happened that year. I like to draw it so that I have a visual representation of my year. It’s also a nice way to keep a story of what has happened in my life. I keep them all filed away and review them from time to time. So, I make a visual representation of the past year. It doesn’t have to be a masterpiece. It can be lines and shapes and colors, as long as it represents what the year has been like. It can also be a list of events and accomplishments, if that is more natural for you. Then, I turn towards the year ahead and draw what I am expecting from the coming months. Some things are already in motion and some are just simple goals that I would like to move towards. It gives me a focus on what I want to cultivate in my life. Because everything that happens starts with you. Change yourself and you change the world.

So set your year in motion by taking a moment to wish the best for yourself. You’ve already wished everyone else a happy new year. Take a moment to wish yourself all the blessings you deserve.

Love and light!

