Lammas celebrates the wheat harvest. It is also known as Lughnasadh, celebration of the celtic sun god Lugh. This feast was adopted by the expanding Church as Loaf mass, where bread made with the new wheat was offered during mass.

In commemoration of this feast, I baked my special banana bread and invited some friends to partake in it. I also took some time to reflect on my harvest of the last year. It dawned upon me that I did a lot more sowing than harvesting this year. We have a million projects starting up and we are laying foundations for things to come rather than looking at what the world has given us this year. Yet, the baking of that banana bread brought me back to the here and now. Living in a remote region, the basic necessities, such as food, have taken on a whole new meaning for us. We live in a world where we are constantly pulled in different directions, looking for what we may need or want. Today, I took a deep breath and realized that I have all that I need. And what I need isn’t very much. I am surrounded by the people I love. I have a roof over my head and I eat every day. I feel safe. I have my intelligence and I have my soul.

Thank you Holy Mother for such great things!

Blessed Lammas to you all!

