I was planning to write a little something about magic and prayer. But then, I read a comment about the book on amazon.com and I thought I should write a little something about that. First of all, there was a beautiful comment quoting the book as groundbreaking work. Thank you very much to the author of the comment. Then there was a comment entitled ‘Delusional!’ Great! Then I found another book review with some stark criticism of Christian Witchcraft. You can check it out for yourself right here: http://groups.google.com/group/alt.religion.wicca/browse_thread/thread/cf0b3600cdf1076f The author does show respect for the need to find balance within a spiritual path, no matter what that path may be. The criticism of Christian Witchcraft is quite harsh nonetheless.

I was debating whether to post comments. I haven’t at this point. I’m a fervent supporter of freedom of expression. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. And I am not personally hurt by this. I know who I am and I know that I am not alone. The beautiful emails that I am receiving are a testimony to that. Still, it is the first time that I get negative remarks regarding my spiritual path. It was inevitable, I guess.

I knew that the book would spark controversy. Somehow, I was prepared to face the wrath of the Christian front. Well, it appears that it is the Pagan side that has reacted first and that vehemently opposes the merging of anything Christian with Witchcraft. Most probably, news of the book’s publication has not reached the ears of Christian fundamentalists yet. But, the criticism is not so much about the book as about the whole concept of Christian Witchcraft as a valid spiritual path.

I don’t want to put a negative spin on the whole adventure that is the coming out of the book. I think that for many, it is a sort of homecoming and nothing should dampen that. I just thought that this might be an opportunity to share the reality of what it means to be practicing a spiritual path that may be criticized by both Pagans and Christians. Like I said before, it has never really happened to me. I have felt nothing but respect from the people around me, even if they disagreed with my practice.

So, I want to hear from you readers, whether on the critiquing side or not. Do you face open criticism or discrimination? Do you think the place where you live has an impact on the way you are received by others? Do you find that people are generally respectful or not?

Thanks for sharing. I’ll come back to magic and prayer very soon, because living our path is what matters most, no matter what that path may be! BB

